Guns N’ Roses lose second member in as many weeks

Guns N’ Roses have confirmed that guitarist Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal is out of the band. A source said he quit last year.

The source said, “I don’t understand why he continues to be evasive on his status with the band. He quit in South America. He told Axl he was done and Vegas would be his last run with the band.”

Thal says he is focusing on his solo career but wouldn’t say he was out of Guns N’ Roses. Last week he said he wouldn’t go into detail on his status with the band.

Alice Chains: The Untold Story” entire first chapter posted online

Journalist David de Sola will release “Alice in Chains: The Untold Story” tomorrow. If you want a preview, the book’s entire first chapter can be read on the Macmillan web site.

The book is based on interviews with sources directly tied to the band and its history, many of whom are on the record for the first time. The journalist also combed through hundreds of pages of public records to pen what many are hailing as the definitive Alice In Chains biography.

“The Untold Story” explains how drugs nearly destroyed the band and claimed the lives of founding singer Staley and founding bassist Mike Starr. The book also documents the band’s resurrection with new front man William DuVall, who took Staley’s place behind the microphone in 2006.



1,000 Italians campaigned for the Foo Fighters to visit their hometown.

Citizens from all over Italy got together to show the Foo Fighters they can rock too, performing and filming a 1,000-person version of the group’s 1999 hit “Learn to Fly.”

The band responded to the video on Thursday, saying, “Che bello, Cesena,” which translates to “How beautiful.”

Then later Thursday night, Dave Grohl responded on the Foo Fighter’s Facebook page with this:
foo fb


Iron Maiden’s new album The Book of Souls will be out September 4, but in the meantime, the band has released a 27-second teaser.

They recorded the album in late 2014, but the album was delayed because Bruce Dickinson had to be treated for cancerous tumors. He was able to recover and was given the all-clear by doctors.

Sevendust Has a New Album Coming in October

Sevendust’s eleventh studio album, “Kill The Flaw”, will be released on October 2.

“Kill The Flaw” is available for digital pre-order at iTunes. Fans who order the album will receive an instant download of the first single, “Thank You”.

Frontman Lajon Witherspoon said, “We took some time off from the heavy side of SEVENDUST, and when it came time to record some new music, Clint, John, Vinnie, Morgan and I put everything we had in to what became ‘Kill The Flaw’.”

Fans will get to hear new stuff from the band this Fall because Sevendust will be the direct support on Godsmack’s tour.

DJ Ashba Quits Guns N’ Roses

Guns N’ Roses guitarist D.J. Ashba has announced his departure from the band so he can focus on Sixx:A.M.

He says in a statement: “Six years ago, I received a call that changed my life forever. The call was from a dear friend of mine (Katie McNeil-Diamond) who was working with GUNS N’ ROSES. It was an offer to audition for Axl Rose and earn a role in arguably the biggest rock band of my time. While I thought it was a complete long shot, I decided to go ahead and give it a try. Much to my shock and surprise, I got the gig. And so began the most incredible journey I could have possibly imagined. I was blessed with the opportunity to not only work with one of the most talented bands, but also to share the stage with a living legend and a truly gifted human being, Axl Rose. The amount of confidence and trust that Axl placed in me was genuinely heartwarming and truly career-defining. So now it is with a very heavy heart and yet great pride that I announce that I’ve decided to close this chapter of my life. I feel its time to dedicate myself to my band SIXX: A.M., my adoring wife and family, and to the many new adventures that the future holds for me.”

Judas Priest Announces Fall 2015 North American Tour

Judas Priest have announced a dozen or so North American dates that are scheduled to begin October 16 in California.

Support on most of the shows will come from Atlanta progressive metallers MASTODON.

Tour dates:

Oct. 16 – Paso Robles, CA @ Vina Robles Ampitheater
Oct. 17 – Las Vegas, NV @ The Pearl
Oct. 20 – San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield Theater
Oct. 21 – San Jose, CA @ City National Civic
Nov. 03 – Peoria, IL @ Civc Center
Nov. 06 – Huntington, N.Y. @ Paramount Theater
Nov. 07 – Newark, N.J. @ Prudential Center