Here’s what’s at stake for local and state races Tuesday. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tune in to News Radio KMAN and follow Tuesday night for election results.
Voters are weighing in on a proposed .05 percent sales tax extension beyond 2022.
Republican Greg McKinley of Riley is up against Democrat Fanny Fang for the 2nd District seat currently held by Marvin Rodriguez, who was defeated in the primary.
Republican John Matta of Manhattan is taking on Democrat Kathryn Focke for the District 3 seat currently held by Ron Wells, who also was defeated in the primary.
All other races for elected office, including county attorney and register of deeds are uncontested
There are no contested races in Pottawatomie County.
Republican Pat Weixelman is uncontested on the county commission in District 2 and Republican former Sheriff Greg Riat, who served out the term of former commissioner Travis Altenhofen, is unopposed in District 3.
Shane Jager, who is serving out Riat’s term as Sheriff is unopposed as he seeks the Sheriff’s Office on the ballot.
Democrat Tom Hawk is seeking a third term in the Kansas State Senate in District 22. He’s opposed by Republican businessman Craig Bowser.
There’s an open seat in the Kansas House in District 67, where Republican former Manhattan Mayor Mike Dodson is challenged by Democrat Cheryl Arthur of Manhattan.
In District 64, Republican Rep. Suzi Carlson is challenged by Democrat Jim Vathauer.
Democrat Rep. Sydni Carlin of Manhattan is unopposed in District 66. Republican Ron Highland of Wamego is unopposed in District 51.
At the federal level, in the U.S. Senate, Republican Roger Marshall and Democrat Barbara Bollier are competing for the open seat currently held by Sen. Pat Roberts, who is retiring.
There’s also an open seat in Kansas’ Big First District in the House of Representatives. Republican former Lt. Governor Tracey Mann is and Democrat school teacher Kali Barnett of Garden City are vying for that seat.
Elsewhere, in the Kansas House races, in District 2, Republican State Treasurer Jake LaTurner is challenging Democratic Topeka Mayor Michelle De La Isla for the open seat. Democrat Sharice Davids is seeking a second term in District 3, opposed by Republican Amanda Adkins. Republican Ron Estes is seeking another term in District 4 and is opposed by Democrat Laura Lombard.
All eyes will also be on the presidential race which may or may not be decided Tuesday night. Republicans have dominated the state in presidential elections, with President Trump getting 56 percent of the vote in 2016. The last Democrat to win Kansas was Lyndon Johnson in 1964.

The post You decide 2020: Local, state and federal races to watch appeared first on News Radio KMAN.