German thrash metal veterans SODOM will release a new EP, “Bombenhagel”, on August 20 via Steamhammer/SPV. The effort will be made available on CD, 12-inch vinyl and as a digital download.

SODOM bassist/vocalist Thomas “Angelripper” Such says: “Originally we had planned to bring out the record in time for this year’s summer festival season, including a sticker with all confirmed tour dates. Of course, the way it looks at the moment, all festivals will be postponed until 2022. But the EP will be released anyway, as a sign of life. As a signal to our fans: We’re still around! The story continues.”

Track listing:

01. Bombenhagel (6:06)
02. Coup De Grace (3:06)
03. Pestiferous Posse (5:05)

“Bombenhagel” was the title of a song from SODOM‘s second studio album, “Persecution Mania”, which came out in 1987.

SODOM‘s latest studio LP, “Genesis XIX”, came out last November via Entertainment One (eOne) in North America and Steamhammer/SPV in Europe. The disc was recorded by Siggi Bemm and mastered by Patrick W. Engel and comes shrouded in the cover art of Joe Petagno of MOTÖRHEAD fame.

Angelripper described “Genesis XIX” as “one of the toughest and most diverse studio recordings that SODOM have ever released.” He is joined in the band’s current lineup by guitarists Frank Blackfire and Yorck Segatz as well as new addition, drummer Toni Merkel.

“Our riff suppliers, Yorck and Frank, are totally different types of musicians,” Angelripper said. “Yorck is a died-in-the-wool metalhead who grew up with thrash music. Frank, on the other hand, also integrates blues and rock elements into his style, including the occasional Frank Marino or Rory Gallagher quotation, and writes songs that could have featured in the same or a similar way on ‘Agent Orange’. These are the diverse influences that make ‘Genesis XIX’ what it is.”