The Big 12 is limiting how many new teams will be joining the conference. League commissioner Brett Yormark said on Wednesday on the “Marchand and Ourand Sports Media Podcast,” that the Big 12 won’t add Gonzaga and UConn. Yormark said talks were held with both schools, but ended after the Big 12 added former Pac-12 schools Arizona, Arizona State, Utah and Colorado.

      Yormark – No more UConn Zaga talks

The Big 12 was active in expansion talks after Oklahoma and Texas announced they would be joining in SEC earlier this year. Yormark said he believes the Big 12 is the “deepest conference” for football and is the number-one conference for basketball.