YES has released a statement regarding ANDERSON RABIN WAKEMAN‘s decision to changed the latter group’s name to include “YES” in the moniker.

YES‘s best-known past members, singer Jon Anderson, guitarist Trevor Rabin, and keyboardist Rick Wakeman, revealed on Monday (April 10) that “effective immediately” they will be called YES Featuring Jon Anderson, Trevor Rabin, Rick Wakeman, under which name they will tour North America later this year.

Anderson said: “It’s very simple — the fans want it, we want it, and it’s our right to use the name. YES music is in our DNA.”

The trio’s name change quickly drew a response from the current lineup of YES, which features Steve Howe alongside fellow longtime member Alan White, returning ’80s- and ’90s-era contributors Geoff Downes and Billy Sherwood, and singer Jon Davison. The band’s co-founder Chris Squire died in 2015.

YES said in a statement: “While Jon Anderson has rights to use the name as one of the co-owners of the trademark, YES‘s position is that every effort should be made by promoters, ticket agencies and all involved to respect YES‘s magnificent and loyal fanbase and minimize confusion regarding the use of YES Featuring Anderson, Rabin, Wakeman.”

Anderson, Rabin and Wakeman reunited with Howe and White for YES‘s induction into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame last Friday. Together they played “Roundabout” and “Owner Of A Lonely Heart” at the event.

Prior to the induction ceremony, Howe said a classic-era YES reunion was unlikely, while Wakeman, in a tweet after the show, revealed it would never happen. He wrote: “To answer as to whether or not the Hall Of Fame induction will mean a YES reunion in the future, I can say 100% it’s never going to happen.”

The most successful prog rock group of all time, YES, was co-founded by Anderson and Squire in 1968 and went on to sell millions of units with releases such as “Fragile”, “Close to The Edge”, “Tales From Topographic Oceans”, “Going For The One” and “90125”, as well as embarking on several record-breaking world tours.

Whilst Rick is predominantly associated with the ’70s “prog era” of the band (which saw YES become a worldwide stadium headliner) and Trevor associated with the ’80s “pop era” of the band (which furthered the band’s popularity — including the band’s biggest chart success), Jon is the bridge between both factions (as he was a member of both eras). The touring YES Featuring Jon Anderson, Trevor Rabin, Rick Wakeman band lineup is completed by two extraordinary musicians — Lee Pomeroy on bass and Louis Molino III on drums — who help to ensure that YES‘s immaculate artistic legacy remains intact.

YES (above) photo credit: Glenn Gottlieb