Over the past month, Riley County officials and others have been in contact with potential task force members to provide input on the future state of the fairgrounds and whether it should be relocated.

Riley County Extension Director Gary Fike, who will chair that task force, presented commissioners Thursday with 10 names that have been selected as potential appointees.

      0420-Fike 4

Commission Chair Kathryn Focke nominated Russ Briggs, Commission Vice Chair Greg McKinley nominated John Wienck and Commissioner John Ford nominated Dave Lewis. Ford says there’s a secondary element to the task force’s vision.

      0420-Ford 1

The remaining task force members will include Mike Day, Natalie Gordon, Randy Holle, Greg Lohrentz, Sue Maes, Craig Poe and Lance Sharp.