REDEMPTION, the U.S. progressive metal band led by guitarist/songwriter Nick Van Dyk, will release its seventh full-length album, “Long Night’s Journey Into Day”, on July 27 via Metal Blade. The disc was produced by Jacob Hansen (VOLBEAT, PRIMAL FEAR, AMARANTHE, DORO).

The follow-up to 2016’s “The Art Of Loss”, which Van Dyk counts amongst REDEMPTION‘s very best, “Long Night’s Journey Into Day” is inarguably the sound of a band at the height of its powers. As followers of REDEMPTION are also aware, it is the first full-length since the departure of vocalist Ray Alder, and features the debut of EVERGREY vocalist Tom Englund.

“We were unable to tour ‘The Art Of Loss’ because Ray was not able to actively participate in REDEMPTION any longer, so we decided it was time to part company shortly after its release,” says Van Dyk. “Ray is a dear friend, and I have nothing but respect and love for him and what we created together. But at some point, it just became untenable.”

Of course, Alder‘s shoes were not exactly going to be easy to fill, and it was essential that his successor be someone who would immediately command respect, as well as somebody who could exceed expectations when it came to performance. Moreover, it was integral that they had someone who could fully invest in the lyrical themes concerning the human condition, which have always been central to REDEMPTION. So, the fact that from the beginning of his career Englund has penned lyrics about feelings of doubt, fear and despair with an unshakable emotional authenticity made him the perfect choice.

“Because of the power of his voice and the emotion he brings, this isn’t going to be a shocking transition for fans,” says Van Dyk. “Tom‘s also a very versatile vocalist, and being a songwriter, he has a tremendous melodic and compositional sensibility, and on top of that, we’ve known each other for many years, and there is a level of not just professional respect but personal friendship to it all.”

Guitarists Chris Poland (MEGADETH, OHM:) and Simone Mularoni (DGM) return as guest musicians. When it came to backing up the music with visuals, the band once again turned to a longtime collaborator, Travis Smith, whose humbling resumé includes records by bands such as ACT OF DEFIANCE, OPETH and ICED EARTH.

“Long Night’s Journey Into Day” track listing:

01. Eyes You Dare Not Meet In Dreams
02. Someone Else’s Problem
03. The Echo Chamber
04. Impermanent
05. Indulge In Color
06. Little Men
07. And Yet
08. The Last Of Me
09. New Year’s Day
10. Long Night’s Journey Into Day

As previously announced, REDEMPTION will appear at ProgPower USA 2018, with more dates coming soon.


Tom Englund – Vocals
Nick Van Dyk – Guitars
Sean Andrews – Bass
Chris Quirarte – Drums
Vikram Shankar – Keyboards