In a brand new interview with, ex-GREAT WHITE and current JACK RUSSELL’S GREAT WHITE singer Jack Russell was asked if he has been distancing himself from his tenure with his former band since the formation of his new group. He responded: “I’m not really trying to distance myself, so to speak, you know? I have my own voice and my own sound. I have my own musical ideas and you know that I was a very big part of GREAT WHITE. Now I have a different co-writer and that makes a huge difference. It makes a huge impact on what the final product is, you know?

He continued: “[JACK RUSSELL’S GREAT WHITE‘s debut album, ‘He Saw it Comin”] was really a collaborative effort. It used to be me that wrote all of the lyrics and all the melodies, you know? I helped define how the music was going to sound.

“But anyway, that was then, this is now. I don’t want to forget my past nor do I want to be locked to it.”

Russell added: “The reason I wanted to keep part of the name was, one, I had every right to, since I was the one who started the band with Mark [Kendall, GREAT WHITE guitarist], I’ve been doing it all these years and it’s part of me and I’m part of it. And also because brands are so important. I never used to believe that.

“My ex-manager Obi Steinman used to say, ‘If I had five monkeys, I could make money off of this band. Just the name alone.’ And I was, like, ‘No way’, you know? He was, like, ‘Even if I replaced you with a monkey, I could still sell it.’ And I was, like, ‘Dude, there is no way you can take me out of the band and it will sell.’ But he proved me wrong.”

“He Saw it Comin'” was released on January 27 via Frontiers Music Srl. The disc features Jack Russell alongside former GREAT WHITE bassist-turned-guitarist Tony Montana (as a guitar player and keyboardist), Dan McNay (MONTROSE) on bass, Robby Lochner (FIGHT) on guitar and Dicki Fliszar (BRUCE DICKINSON) on drums.

JACK RUSSELL’S GREAT WHITE is not to be confused with the current touring and recording version of GREAT WHITE, which features Kendall, Scott Snyder (bass), Audie Desbrow (drums), Michael Lardie (guitar, keyboards) and Terry Ilous (lead vocals).