UMC/Mercury will release of “The Def Leppard EP” in conjunction with Record Store Day 2017. This release marks the start of a series of catalogue releases over the next few years for DEF LEPPARD.

April 22 will see DEF LEPPARD release their original first EP with replica art and picture cover. This is a 12-inch version of the EP playing at 45rpm — a one-off special for Record Store day and the first time it will be available in that format. The release is fully supported by the band.

Track listing is as follows:

01. Ride Into The Sun (2:57)
02. Getcha Rocks Off (3:44)
03. The Overture (7:56)

The EP was originally recorded in November 1978 at Fairview Studios in Hull and produced by the band. Released in January 1979 through the band’s own Bludgeon Riffola label, this was the EP that launched one of the most successful and critically acclaimed rock bands of all time.

Said DEF LEPPARD singer Joe Elliott: “This is the EP that shone a light on this fledgling bunch of wannabes and set us on our way to international stardom (eventually…)! Recorded at Fairview Studios, just outside Hull in North Yorkshire, a studio we were extremely happy to frequent as it had been used on numerous occasions by the late great Mick Ronson. It took two days to record and cost £148.50 — money borrowed from my Dad (a feat financially and time wise we would never get close to achieving again, EVER!!!!)”

DEF LEPPARD‘s three-month run across North America is set to kick off on April 8 in Manchester, New Hampshire and wrap on June 25 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The band’s latest, self-titled album came out in 2015.