Metallica’s James Hetfield Discusses Fear and Turning 50 [VIDEO]

James Hetfield has triumphed over band turmoil, changing trends and even fire itself, but that doesn’t mean he isn’t afraid of anything. Take responsibility, for instance.
The Metallica frontman opened up on the subject during a recent interview with Road Recovery (which you can watch above), admitting, ‘I’ve been afraid of responsibility my whole life, not wanting to take responsibility for myself. I remember as a kid in school, there was a summer school for ‘gifted’ kids, which for me was weird already,’ he laughed. ‘Gifted? Yeah.’
Looking back on one particular project, he continued, ‘It was like, ‘You’re gonna make a film. OK, get into groups, then come together with an idea.’ Hetfield remembered that he contributed the lion’s share of the ideas for the project, but froze when it came time to step up. ‘Then they said, ‘Now choose your leader, who’s gonna be leading this group and be responsible for stuff.’ And I shrunk, man. I got scared … I bailed on it. I bailed, because I was afraid of responsibility. Afraid of failure, maybe. Afraid I didn’t know what I was really doing.’
It proved a formative experience; as Hetfield went on to point out, his behavior in that moment informs the way he’s dealt with a lot of things — including managing his sobriety. ‘That’s kind of what it’s like for me in recovery at times,’ he admitted. ‘Afraid to take on the responsibility of sponsees or something, or allowing myself to stand up, you know, and shine in that way.’
While not everyone can understand where Hetfield is coming from in terms of addiction and recovery, pretty much all of us can identify with what he talked about next. ‘Another fear of mine: turning 50. I’m supposed to know everything, sit down there and be a role model. Teach everybody all this stuff,’ he chuckled. ‘When you think you’re a role model, guess what? You’re not. If you’re trying to be a role model, you’re not. Being yourself and the best self you can be? Then maybe you’ll be a role model to someone.’


Trent Reznor and his scoring partner Atticus Ross are nominated for a Golden Globe for Best Original Score for David Fincher’s Gone Girl. Reznor and Ross have done a few scores together in the past like The Social Network and The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

Here’s a song from the Gone Girl soundtrack.


Slayer rules. A venue in Indianapolis posted this on their Facebook saying Slayer had adopted this freezing kitten from a homeless man offering it up for a dollar.

Slayer’s publicist shared this story:

“Last night Kerry [King] and some of the crew went to dinner at Kerry’s favorite steak house in Indy, St. Elmo’s Steak House. Afterwards, the assistant tour manager, Jess [Cortese] saw a homeless man on the street who offered up this little kitten for a dollar. The kitten apparently was freezing so Jess took it, slept with her in her bunk on the bus and went to the venue with her today, hanging out. One of the runners knew someone who wanted a kitten, so the little guy now has a new home where he or she currently is.”


This guy does a 20-minute Megadeth medley playing snippets of all Megadeth songs in chronological order. He starts all the way back at Killing Is My Business…And Business Is Good and ended with Super Collider. He doesn’t slip up once either. What a badass!

Axl Rose Debunks Death Hoax, Hints at New Guns N’ Roses Music

Some mean-spirited pranksters tried to dupe readers into believing we’d lost Axl Rose during the same week that’s seen the deaths of Bobby Keys and Ian McLagan, but not to worry — the Guns N’ Roses frontman is still very much alive.
A fake Rose obituary made the rounds Dec. 3, with a headline reading ‘Sources: Guns N’ Roses Frontman Axl Rose Found Dead in West Hollywood Home at Age 52’ citing ‘sources’ behind ‘unconfirmed reports’ and containing a ‘quote’ from a fake LAPD spokesperson. The offending site, designed to look like MSNBC, has done this kind of thing before — Macaulay Culkin is a recent victim — but it still raised enough of a hubbub to warrant a response from Rose, who debunked it with a little good-natured humor.
Through his Twitter account, Rose asked followers, ‘If I’m dead do I still have to pay taxes?,’ while on Facebook, the GNR account shared a photo from the Paradise City fan community making fun of the whole thing. Meanwhile, in even better news for fans who feared Rose was dead, he followed that joking with a photo tweet from the studio.
Obviously, that’s far from official confirmation that there’s actually a real Guns N’ Roses record in the works, but for the long-suffering faithful patiently waiting for a follow-up to ‘Chinese Democracy,’ Rose seated behind a mixing board has to be taken as an encouraging sign.

Dave Grohl Talks About Playing Early Demos For Kurt Cobain

The newest episode of Foo Fighters’ HBO series, Sonic Highways, focuses on the rich musical history of Seattle, Washington. Naturally, Nirvana received heavy focus during the episode as Dave Grohl recounted his time in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame outfit.

Among the biggest revelations was the time Kurt Cobain asked to hear solo recordings Grohl had been working on during Nirvana’s 1992 tour. Those demos included ‘Alone + Easy Target”’ which would later be released on Foo Fighters’ 1995 debut album.

‘Kurt heard that, and kissed me on the face, as he was in a bath,’ Grohl revealed. ‘He was so excited. He was like, ‘I heard you recorded some stuff with Barrett [Jones].’ I was like, ‘Yeah.’ He was like, ‘Let me hear it.’ I was too afraid to be in the same room as he listened to it.’

Listen to the ‘Alone + Easy Target’ and Hooker on the Street below: